GAUTAM BUDDHA UNIVERSITY





Department of History and Civilisations

"A civilization remains healthy as long as it contains in its centre some creative ideal that binds its members in the rhythm of relationship. It is a relationship which is beautiful and not merely utilitarian..."- These are Tagore's words in one of his lectures in China.

The above lines by Tagore very well signify the deeper meanings associated with studying history and culture for any individual.

The Department of History and Civilizations of Gautam Buddha University offers a unique blend of opportunities to students looking forward to get a specialised understanding of the past. We offer a variety of papers not only in Ancient, Medieval and Modern history but also a variety of important papers on world history. The department also offers a number of skill enhancement courses like Tourism, Heritage, Pali language, Indian knowledge systems, Ancient art and culture, Indian sciences and technology etc. as part of our curriculum. The course in the department is planned with special emphasis on multi-disciplinary approach.

The Department was established in 2019 and has started its post graduate programme in 2021. It is placed under the School of Humanities and social sciences. Dr. Neeti Rana is the dean of our school. The Department is headed by Dr. Vinod Kumar Shanwal.

The students of the department also have an edge of learning from the esteemed faculty members of Department of Buddhist studies which is one of the oldest departments of Gautam Buddha University. The department organises various activities like presentations, seminars, conferences, quizzes, debates etc. to develop the extra- curricular talents of our students. The skills of our students are honed so that they are able to march into the outside world as confident individuals and be successful in both their academic and in other activities of day to day life.

Faculty Members



Dr. Neeti Rana (Dean)



Dr. V K Shanwal (HOD)



Dr. CS Paswan



Dr. Gyanaditya Shakya



Dr. Sangeeta Wadhwa



Dr. Diwakar Garwa



Dr. Vibhavari



Dr. Priyanka Singh



Mr. Vikram Singh Yadav



Dr. Shaivya Singh



Dr. Aditi



Ms. Neha Mandal



Dr. Poonam Bhartiya



Ms. Mamta Rai



Dr. Mamta Kumari